The most accessible location in the store was the old "back shop",
an area where goods were received and stored before being placed
on the shelves. This room features the original freight elevator for
the store. Staff members sanded the original floor down, and finished
the room in an old-fashioned wainscot (using, of course, Caledonia's
famous white pine).
Original displays for the Grand Opening in May of 2000 included artifacts from the 1880's North Queens Gold Rush, along with antique dishes, ledgers, and a fascinating display of "antique" elixirs and compounds sold from the store all those years ago. The store has
such a large collection that displays are changed regularly;
subsequent displays have included antique toys, school primers, and...
Copyright © 2002